Durban University of Technology (DUT)


THE DURBAN UNIVERSITY OF TECHNOLOGY (DUT) is a globally recognised University based in KwaZulu-Natal. The University comprises five campuses in Durban and two campuses in Pietermaritzburg with a total of six faculties striving to transform the lives and livelihoods of over 33 000 students. DUT is a result of the merger in 2002 of two prestigious Technikons – ML Sultan and Technikon Natal – and was named the Durban Institute of Technology, later to become the Durban University of Technology in line with the rest of the universities of technology.






The Durban University of Technology shows up favourably as one of the top five universities in South Africa and is ranked in the top 500 universities of the world by the Times Higher Education World University Rankings 2021. Due to DUT’s ever-increasing levels of performance and research outputs, according to the World University Rankings, the Institution ranks 10th in the world on citations, raising DUT significantly up the ladder to greater academic heights.


The Durban University of Technology (DUT)  was recently ranked 2nd in South Africa and 102 in the world by the 2021 Times Higher Education (THE) Young University Rankings


Applications Close: 30 September 2022



  • R250 (SA citizen)
  • R300 (International student)
  • R470 (Late application fee for SA citizens)
  • R580 (Late application fee for international students)


Do I Need to Write the NBTs? →Yes

Remember to: Calculate your APS


Step 1:  Apply Online

Step 2:  Complete the online application forms in full. 

Step 3:  Attach/upload all supporting documents.

View a detailed breakdown of how to apply to DUT.


Remember you’ll need an email address.  Don’t have one?  Get an email address.

Qualification Cost Range per Annum

Course cost ranges from R670 to R23 260 per instalment. To find out specific course costs, check out the fees handbook. 


Have questions about your application?

031 373 2000

Need to find the institution?

Physical Address:
Durban University of Technology 
41/43 M L Sultan Rd


The university of technology offers a wide variety of under- and post-graduate qualifications that fit into the following faculties:

  • Faculty of Accounting and Informatics
  • Faculty of Applied Sciences
  • Faculty of Arts and Design
  • Faculty of Engineering and the Built Environment
  • Faculty of Health Sciences
  • Faculty of Management Sciences

View DUT’s prospectus for more information. 

Don’t meet the minimum requirements? There’s still hope!

  • North-West University

    Want North-West University to contact you with more information on their courses? Complete this form to find out more!
  • By submitting an enquiry you agree to our Privacy Policy and to receive communication from North-West University and Fundi (in accordance with the POPI Act)
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.